Quick and Easy “Waterless Carrots”

IMG_8192

You’ve been there, right?  You look in your fridge and in your pantry and the pickins are slim.  You’re too tired to go to the store (and if you’re like me, by the end of the day your Hashimoto’s or other autoimmune disease has sucked the energy right out of you).  And, the dinner hour is close at hand.  Sometimes, the side dishes are the hardest dinner item to put together especially when energy levels are in the red.

One item I have in my fridge almost constantly is a big bag of carrots.  I buy the 5 lb bag of organic carrots at Sprouts and keep them on hand for dishes like pot roast, stew, chicken zoodle soup, bone broth and for snacking.

Carrots are very low in Saturated Fat and Cholesterol. They are also a good source of Thiamin, Niacin, Vitamin B6, Folate and Manganese, and a very good source of Dietary Fiber, Vitamin A, Vitamin C, Vitamin K and Potassium.

If you’re like me, you probably keep carrots in your fridge as well.  And, if you’re like me, sometimes those carrots take up residence in your fridge for a very long time!  Time to put those nutritious root vegetables to work.

Make it Do (http://www.make-it-do.com/cook-it-bake-it/quick-and-easy-side-carrots/) has a great recipe for a quick and easy “waterless” carrot side dish recipe. I tried it the other day and not only was it easy and quick, but my family (even my picky eaters) loved it!  Now that’s a win-win for me!

IMG_8180

To begin with, I gently scrubbed the carrots under running water.  I did not peel my carrots as suggested in the original post.  Many of a carrot’s nutrients are found in the skin and immediately beneath it. Since my carrots were organic I felt safe in leaving the peel on.  Then I sliced them trying to keep all of the slices fairly even in thickness.

IMG_8182

Since I had around 8 carrots, I used 2 tablespoons of ghee.  Melt the ghee in a saucepan that has a tight fitting lid.  Toss in the carrots along with some salt and pepper to taste.

I had some fresh organic parsley on hand which I added.  You can also use dried parsley.  The green adds some eye appeal to this dish and gives it a wonderful flavor.

Cover the pan with the lid and cook over a medium heat until you see steam beginning to escape under the lid.  Turn down the medium low and cook for 8 to 10 minutes or until the carrots are all soft and tender.  Stir the carrots a couple of times during cooking to keep them from sticking to the bottom of the pan or turning brown.

IMG_8192

This recipe is perfect for those of us who follow a Paleo or Whole 30 diet.  The carrots are tender, naturally sweet and nutritious.  An added bonus for me is that cooked carrots are a wonderful healing food for gut permeability issues.

Quick, easy, nutritious and yummy!  I think this dish is a winner!

Here is the recipe taken from the Make it Do http://www.make-it-do.com/cook-it-bake-it/quick-and-easy-side-carrots/ blog and with a few tweaks:

Waterless Carrots

8 large organic carrots

2 tablespoons ghee

Fresh or dried parsley

Salt and pepper to taste

Scrub carrots gently under running water.  Slice carrots in even slices.  Melt butter in a large saucepan with a tight-fitting lid.  Add carrots, salt and pepper to taste.  Toss in some fresh or dried parsley.  Cover and cook over medium heat until you see steam escaping.  Turn down and cook 8-10 minutes or until tender, stirring occasionally.  Serve hot.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

